ZHANG, David

X.Q. Deng Presidential Chair Professor

Education Background

Ph.D (Harbin Institute of Technology)

Ph.D (University of Waterloo)

MS (Harbin Institute of Technology)

B.Sc. (Peking University)

Research Field
Pattern Recognition, Image Processing and Biometrics
Personal Website
Email
davidzhang@cuhk.edu.cn
Office
Room 513, Daoyuan Building
Biography

Professor Zhang is X.Q. Deng Presidential Chair Professor of School of Data Science in the Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen), Director of Center for Computer Vision in Shenzhen Institute of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics for Society, Director of CUHK(SZ)-Linklogis Joint Laboratory of CV & AI.

David Zhang graduated in Computer Science from Peking University. He received his MSc in 1982 and his PhD in 1985 in both Computer Science from the Harbin Institute of Technology (HIT), respectively. From 1986 to 1988 he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at Tsinghua University and then an Associate Professor at the Academia Sinica, Beijing. In 1994 he received his second PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. He has been a Chair Professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University where he is the Founding Director of Biometrics Research Centre (UGC/CRC) supported by the Hong Kong SAR Government since 2005. Currently he is Presidential Chair Professor in Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen). He also serves as Visiting Chair Professor in Tsinghua University and HIT, and Adjunct Professor in Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Peking University, National University of Defense Technology and the University of Waterloo.

He is both Founder and Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Image & Graphics (IJIG) (http://www.worldscinet.com/ijig/ijig.shtml) and Springer International Series on Biometrics (KISB) (http://www.springer.com/series/6191); Organizer, the first International Conference on Biometrics Authentication (ICBA); and Associate Editor of more than ten international journals including IEEE Transactions and so on. Over past 40 years, he have been working on pattern recognition, image processing and biometrics, where many research results have been awarded and some created directions, including palmprint recognition, computerized TCM and facial beauty analysis, are famous in the world. So far, he has published over 20 monographs, 500 international journal papers and 40 patents from USA/Japan/China. From 2014 to 2021, he has been continuously listed as a Highly Cited Researchers in Engineering by Clarivate Analytics (formerly known as Thomson Reuters) (http://highlycited.com). He is ranked 85 with H-Index 120 at Top 1,000 Scientists for international Computer Science and Electronics in 2021 (http://www.guide2research.com/scientists).

Professor Zhang is also an Distinguished Speaker of the IEEE Computer Society, and an IEEE Life Fellow and an IAPR Fellow. Professor Zhang is selected as a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

张大鹏

校长讲座教授

教育背景

博士(哈尔滨工业大学)

博士(滑铁卢大学)

硕士(哈尔滨工业大学)

学士(北京大学)

研究领域
模式识别,图像处理,生物特征识别
个人网站
电子邮件
davidzhang@cuhk.edu.cn
个人简介

张大鹏教授是香港中文大学(深圳)数据科学学院校长讲座教授、深圳市人工智能与机器人研究院(AIRS)计算机视觉研究中心主任、港中大(深圳)-联易融计算机视觉与人工智能联合实验室主任。

张大鹏教授毕业于北京大学计算机科学专业。他于1982年和1985年分别获得哈尔滨工业大学(HIT)计算机理学硕士及博士学位。1986年至1988年,作为中国首批博士后从师于清华大学著名导师常桐院士。1994年,又获得加拿大滑铁卢大学(University of Waterloo) 电气和计算机工程博士学位。自2005年以来, 他一直担任香港理工大学计算学系的讲座教授(智能计算),并创建主持了香港特区政府资助的生物识别研究中心(UGC/CRC)。目前,他已受聘作为香港中文大学(深圳)的校长讲座教授。同时还长期担任清华大学双聘教授,以及哈工大、北大、上海交大、国防科大及加拿大滑铁卢大学的兼职教授。

他是国际图像和图形学报(IJIG)(http://www.worldscinet.com/ijig/ijig.shtml)以及Springer国际生物识别丛书(KISB)(http://www.springer.com/series/6191)的创始人和主编。40多年来一直从事模式识别,图像处理以及生物特征识别研究,是掌纹识别、中医四诊量化及人脸美学等研究领域的开创者和领军人。其研究成果曾多次获奖, 如中韩授予的发明金奖及特殊金奖、日内瓦发明展银奖,以及授予的我国香港特别行政区最高科学技术奖项“裘槎(Chroucher Foundation)优秀科研者”奖(http://www.croucher.org.hk/)等。 张教授已出版了20多部相关专著、500余篇国际期刊论文和40多项美国、日本、中国专利。从2014年开始,他已连续八年被Clarivate Analytics(前身为汤森路透)列为“高被引科学家”(http://highlycited.com) 。2021年,在国际计算机科学和电子学的Top 1000名科学家评选中,张教授以H-Index 120排名85 (http://www.guide2research.com/scientists)。

张教授还是IEEE计算机学会杰出演讲人,以及美国电气和电子工程师学会(IEEE)终身会士、国际模式识别协会(IAPR)和亚洲人工智能学会会士。张大鹏教授凭借其在生物特征识别领域的卓越成就,分别于2020年和2021年当选为加拿大皇家科学院和加拿大工程院两院院士。