DAI, Jiangang Jim

Dean
Leon C. Welch Professor (Cornell University)

Education Background

Ph.D. Mathematics, Stanford University, 1990
M.S. Mathematics, Nanjing University, 1985
B.S. Mathematics, Nanjing University, 1982

Research Field
Applied Probability, Fluid Models, Diffusion Models, Stochastic Processes, and Reinforcement Learning, Dynamic Resource Allocations in Stochastic Processing Networks and Their Applications to Semiconductor Wafer Fabrication Lines, Communications Network
CUHK-Shenzhen
Email
jimdai@cuhk.edu.cn
Biography

Professor Jiangang Jim Dai is the Leon C. Welch Professor of Engineering in the School of Operations Research and Information Engineering, Cornell University. He is also the Dean of School of Data Science, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen. Prior joining Cornell in 2012, Professor Dai held the Chandler Family Chair of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, where he was a faculty member from 1990 to 2012, and received the title of Edenfield Chair Professor in 2007. He was a Special Term Professor at the School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University from 2002 to July 2018 James Riley Distinguished Visiting Professor at the National University of Singapore from 2009 to 2011.

Professor Dai is an international leading scholar in operations research. Most of his former PhD students obtained faculty positions at internationally renowned universities. Professor Dai has received a number of awards for his research contributions. He was honored with the 1994 Young Investigator Award (formerly the Presidential Young Scientist Award) and the 1998 Erlang Award from the INFORMS Applied Probability Society for his outstanding academic achievement. In 1997 and 2017, Professor Dai was awarded the Best Paper Award by the INFORMS Applied Probability Society. He is the only scholar to have won this award twice. In 2018, Professor Dai received the 2018 ACM SIGMETRICS Achievement Award, and he is also the only Chinese who have received the award to date. Professor Dai served as the Editor-In-Chief for Mathematics of Operations Research (MOR), the leading magazine in operations research, from 2012 to 2019.

Academic Publications

Submitted Paper for Publications

J.G. Dai and M Gluzman, Queueing Network Controls via Deep Reinforcement Learning, https://arxiv.org/abs/2008.01644

 

Selected Publications

1. Book: J. G. Dai and Michael J. Harrison, Processing Networks Fluid Models and Stability: https://spnbook.org/ (Order from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/-/zh/dp/1108488897 )

2. J.G. Dai and Pengyi Shi, Inpatient Overflow: An Approximate Dynamic Programming Approach, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management, Vol. 21, No. 4, 2019.

3. A Braverman, J.G. Dai, X Liu, and L Ying, Empty-car routing in ridesharing system, Operations Research 67 (5), 1437-1452, 2019.

4. Anton Braverman, J.G. Dai and Jiekun Feng, Stein's method for steady-state diffusion approximations: an introduction through the Erlang-A and Erlang-C models, Stochastic Systems, 6, 301-366, 2016.

5. J.G. Dai and Wuqin Lin, Maximum Pressure Policies in Stochastic Processing Networks, Operations Research, Vol. 53, 197-218, 2005.

6. J.G. Dai and B Prabhakar, The throughput of data switches with and without speedup, Proceedings IEEE INFOCOM 2000. Conference on Computer Communications, 2000.

7. J.G. Dai, On positive Harris recurrence of multiclass queueing networks: a unified approach via fluid limit models, Annals of Applied Probability, 5, 49-77, 1995.

8. J.G. Dai and J. M. Harrison, Reflected Brownian motion in an orthant: numerical methods for steady-state analysis, Annals of Applied Probability, 2, 65-86, 1992.

More listed on ORCID.

戴建岗

院长
校长讲座教授

教育背景

博士(斯坦福大学)

硕士(南京大学)

学士(南京大学)

研究领域
应用概率,流体模型,扩散模型,随机过程和强化学习,随机处理网络中的动态资源分配和优化及在半导体晶圆生产线,通信网络,数据中心,服务系统(客户呼叫中心,打车平台,航空公司,医院等)的应用
电子邮件
jimdai@cuhk.edu.cn
个人简介

戴建岗教授现为香港中文大学(深圳)校长讲座教授,数据科学学院院长,同时也是美国康奈尔大学运筹学与信息工程系Leon C. Welch讲座教授。戴教授获南京大学数学系学士、硕士学位, 美国斯坦福大学数学系博士学位。戴教授1990年加入乔治亚理工学院,2007年受聘为Edenfield讲座教授, 2012年加入康奈尔大学。戴教授于2002年加入清华大学经济管理学院特聘教授组,任职至2018年7月,于 2009-2011年任新加坡国立大学James Riley杰出访问教授。戴建岗教授目前是国际数理统计学会(IMS)会士(Fellow), 也是运筹学和管理科学研究协会(INFORMS)会士。

戴建岗教授的主要研究方向是随机排队网络。这些数学模型用来帮助设计、控制和优化各种复杂系统,包括半导体生产线、数字通信网络、数据中心、呼叫服务中心、医院病人流量管理和打车平台等。这些系统的共同挑战是如何对有限的系统资源进行有效管理以应对多变的和不确定的环境,并提供最优的服务。他指导的大多数博士研究生毕业后都在国际知名大学任教。

戴教授的学术研究获得了诸多奖项,包括1994年美国国家科学基金会的青年科学家奖(Young Investigator Award,其前身是美国总统青年科学家奖)和1998年INFORMS应用概率学会颁发的Erlang奖。1997年和2017年,戴教授两次荣获INFORMS应用概率学会颁发的最佳论文奖。他是迄今为止唯一获得过两次INFORMS最佳论文奖的学者。2018年,戴教授成为迄今为止唯一获得了ACM SIGMETRICS成就奖的华人。戴教授还曾于2012年至2019年担任《运筹学数学》(MOR)的主编。

学术著作

 

即将出版著作

1. J.G. Dai and M Gluzman, Queueing Network Controls via Deep Reinforcement Learning,https://arxiv.org/abs/2008.01644

2. Book: Processing Networks Fluid Models and Stability: https://spnbook.org/ (Pre-order from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/-/zh/dp/1108488897

 

已出版代表著作

1. J.G. Dai and Pengyi Shi, Inpatient Overflow: An Approximate Dynamic Programming Approach, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management, Vol. 21, No. 4, 2019.

2. A Braverman, J.G. Dai, X Liu, and L Ying, Empty-car routing in ridesharing system, Operations Research 67 (5), 1437-1452, 2019.

3. Anton Braverman, J.G. Dai and Jiekun Feng, Stein's method for steady-state diffusion approximations: an introduction through the Erlang-A and Erlang-C models, Stochastic Systems, 6, 301-366, 2016.

4. J.G. Dai and Wuqin Lin, Maximum Pressure Policies in Stochastic Processing Networks, Operations Research, Vol. 53, 197-218, 2005.

5. J.G. Dai and B Prabhakar, The throughput of data switches with and without speedup, Proceedings IEEE INFOCOM 2000. Conference on Computer Communications, 2000.

6. J.G. Dai, On positive Harris recurrence of multiclass queueing networks: a unified approach via fluid limit models, Annals of Applied Probability, 5, 49-77, 1995.

7. J.G. Dai and J. M. Harrison, Reflected Brownian motion in an orthant: numerical methods for steady-state analysis, Annals of Applied Probability, 2, 65-86, 1992.

 

更多已出版著作,请点击ORCID.